Circuit Churches and Mission Statement

The Taunton Deane and South Sedgemoor Methodist Circuit is one of 17 circuits in the Plymouth and Exeter Methodist District and  includes seven churches and chapels, located in the towns of Taunton and Bridgwater,and the villages of Pawlett, North Curry and Middlezoy. The Churches offer Weddings, Funerals Baptisms and hold their own individual services and activities. You can find out more about each church in the dedicated section on this website including times services, events and own individual Mission Statements. Each Church has a designated Minister and Senior Steward who are able to answer any of your queries.

The Circuit as a whole shares one Main Mission:

‘To be Pilgrim People … on a journey: honouring God, sharing our faith, respecting and helping all.’ 

The full Mission Statement for the Circuit can be found here: TDSS Mission Statement.docx

The District Website can be found here: Plymouth and Exeter District Website


The Methodist Church is committed to safeguarding as an integral part of its life and ministry.Safeguarding is about the action of the Church takes to promote a safer culture.  This means we will:

  • Promote the welfare of children, young people, and adults.
  • Work to prevent abuse from occurring.
  • Seek to protect and respond well to those that have been abused.

Our Circuit Safeguarding Policy can be found here: TDSS Circuit Safeguarding Policy.docx

Please see the The Methodist Church in Britain Safeguarding page for documents on different aspects of Safeguarding: The Methodist Church - Safeguarding

An overview of the work and ministry of our Circuit Churches can be seen here: TDSS Circuit Booklet 2023.doc 

The Circuit Plan

inside plan Sept - Nov 23 final.doc

The CLT is made up of eight members and they can be contacted using the contact us option at the bottom of this website:

  • Rev Deborah Kirk (Superintendent)
  • Rev Annie Deche - Circuit Minister
  • Carol Stowe - Senior Circuit Steward
  • Ian Rossiter - Circuit Steward
  • Elaine Dew - Circuit Steward
  • Peter Thomas - Circuit Treasurer
  • Jane Allin - Synod Secretary
  • Joanna Rossiter - Church and Comminuty Worker